Why Hasn’t Doug Wilson Responded To This…

… if this does not drive you away from Doug Wilson and John Piper nothing will.

al sends

15 responses to “Why Hasn’t Doug Wilson Responded To This…

  1. My, my, my, my,…..who could have seen this coming?
    Some folks just stay too close to the flagpole.
    To brake from the Catholic church, the reformers needed to get out of Dodge. Many today are just across the street.

    ed

  2. Ed, you saw this coming? You saw a shallow cartoon (both in content and form) critique of Douglas Wilson coming from a distance?

    When choosing friends it is good to look at their enemies. These guys, serious men of academia, make Pastor Wilson more attractive to me. I mean, who wants to join a fool in his folly?

    al sends

  3. Hey Brother;
    My point is that when the reformers broke from the Catholic church, they needed to get completely away from it. That is the only way for me of making sure I am dependent on solo scriptoria. If the Catholic church was so wrong on grace, how could we, and why would we trust any other doctrine they taught on? For me, this is about putting new wine in old skins. I am NOT judging how anyone conducts their worship service or organizes their local church, but for me the baby baptism, men with more authority over the local New Testament church than the pastor/elders and the wearing of robes by “clergy” to distinguish them from “the laity” is just not far enough away from the practices of the Catholic church. I started my ministry and serious study of scripture by throwing out ALL of the teachings from my past and studied the sermons of preachers like Charles Spurgeon, A.W. Pink and of the late Dr. D. James Kennedy, among others. A.W. Pink taught me (by book) to do my own scripture searches on every doctrine and to be very careful of research done by others. Know who you can trust and scripture is my highest authority. I love, respect and am very comfortable with people who teach the doctrines of grace, regardless of how they practice, dress or organize to do these other things. I hold myself not above, but out to the side of these my brothers. I hope everyone understands this and is not offended.

    ed

  4. Will, it is serious. The context is too complex to go in detail in writing. Any of the four pastors who write this blog could elaborate on this and give you a better context. Feel free to call me if you would like to discuss it. My number is 850-377-3049.
    Uri

  5. I’ve corresponded…or I should say, * tried * to correspond with this guy… He’s an elder in a tiny home church (I heard 3 families somewhere…), and seems to have as mission in life to destroy the FV and *anyone* who associates themselves with them. Look him up on youtube…watch a few videos, and you’ll get the idea.

  6. Dear Sir,
    Douglas Wilson, John Piper and Paul Washer are all sinners saved by the blood of Jesus. The scriptures command us to bear fruit in keeping with repentance. Evangelicals who go on about sinners having nothing to do to be saved are wrong…it was the Lord Jesus Himself who said, “Repent and believe the Gospel.” When you tell Christians that there is nothing they can do, they do nothing; they do not obey the Ten Commandments, they do not strive after holiness, they do not witness to the lost…they do nothing, because they have been told that all they have to do is “receive Jesus.” Then the danger is that they sit there smugly, hiding behind some selective scriptures and quotes from the Reformers. In the UK evangelical churches are emptying and closing because of this functional Antinomianism/Hyper Calvinism. The Lord wants fruit not passive heathens who have an adept theological system for getting them off the hook.

Leave a Reply

