Books That Made Me a Different Dude

One of my children’s teachers asked me this question: What are some books that have changed your life? Here is my first pass at answering her.

  • Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis. Best explanation of the Christian faith I have ever read.
  • Reforming Marriage by Douglas Wilson. Forever changed the way I think about being a husband.
  • Creation Regained by Albert Wolters. Created indelible categories in my mind for understanding worldview (creation/fall/redemption).
  • For the Life of the World by Alexander Schmemann. The first chapter of this book changed the way I see everything.
  • Confessions by St. Augustine. Helped me understand who I am.
  • The Case for Covenant Baptism ed. by Gregg Strawbridge. The reason I am a Presbyterian.
  • Gospel and Kingdom by Graeme Goldsworthy. Began a Copernican revolution in the way I think about the Old Testament and consequently the whole Bible.
  • 1984 by George Orwell. I return to this brilliant dystopian novel every few years and experience a fresh catharsis every time.

What say you?

4 responses to “Books That Made Me a Different Dude

  1. The Gospel According to Jesus, by John MacArthur. Kept me from a wishy-washy Gospel. It was the first Christian book I ever read.

    The Discipline of Grace, by Jerry Bridges. Reordered my understanding on my place as a forgiven sinner.

    others…

    al sends

  2. Ok, dudes…
    It all began in a cold afternoon in Altoona, PA. That afternoon I read all of Michael Horton’s book: Putting Amazing Back into Grace. Made me a TULIP DUDE.
    Lewis Bevins Schenck: “The Presbyterian Doctrine of Children in the Covenant” made me like babies…a LOT!
    Reformed is Not Enough by Douglas Wilson made me…well, ODD.
    Greg Bahnsen’s “By What Standard” made me think Moses was actually cool.
    John Frame (everything) made me dream in Three’s. Tri-perspectivalism…took me a year to learn to spell that.

  3. Schenck… great book. The place of children in the covenant really came alive with that book.

    I wonder what I did with my copy?

    al sends

  4. Al, I have a copy of it in case you need it.
    Ok, a couple more references:
    a) Keith Mathison’s Postmillenialism: An eschatology of victory…that book made me…
    b) Chilton’s commentary on Revelation made me dream with the number 70.

Leave a Reply

