Fair Warning

I brought up my Gmail this morning. The advertising tag to the right read, “Rapture – May 11, 2011.” The link was to here.

I’m not sayin’. I’m just sayin’.

26 responses to “Fair Warning

  1. Cool. Now we know the date. Time to hunker down, so it is good to know where to get survival supplies…oh wait. I won’t need survival supplies. I won’t be here. I suppose we should hand out gospel tracts and a link to the site just in case the pagan rejects the gospel. Does Tim Lahaye endorse this?

  2. A few things…

    First, it had been so long since you posted I was beginning to think you had been raptured.

    Second, we miss you around here.

    Third…

    The demographic they are trying to reach: Those Left Behind.

    The demographic they actually reach: Eschatologically Post-Mil Christians who are skeered of Obama, but hoping in Jesus Christ.

    I’m just saying.

    al sends

  3. “Eschatologically Post-Mil Christians who are skeered of Obama, but hoping in Jesus Christ.”

    Hey, I may resemble that remark, but only a little. I actually think the Kingdom of God will long outlast “The One.”

    Hope you guys are enjoying your Gulf Coast weather!

  4. I didn’t buy any food… did you buy some food?

    Off of what I wrote why do people think I am talking abou them? And why does Rob think I am talking about me?

    al “the God fearer” sends

  5. Hey Al, I said I “resemble the remark” only a little. Actually half of the remark. The “Eschatologically Post-Mil Christians” part.

    I’ll have you all know that I am skeered of no man, including “The One.” But I reserve the right to be skeered of my wife, and my mother, if I get out of line.

  6. Al, I’m in a diminished state…been participating in “Prarie Day” all day at Trinitas. Second and Third graders have infinite energy!

    Anyway, I have every confidence in your fear being appropriately appropriated. And I’m with you.

  7. I know I am in the minority here, but being Pre-tribulation and Pre-millennium, I wish these idiots who set dates would dry up. It discredit’s the ones of us who are serious students of prophecy.
    To quote AW Pink:
    There is little room for wonder, though there is much for humiliation, at the widespread ignorance and error that now obtains among the people of God on many of the leading subjects of Prophecy. For almost fourteen centuries, as “Church-history” clearly shows, prophecy was neglected. Those known as the “Church fathers”, with only one or two exceptions, like Origen, devoted their time to wrangling over doctrines and the ordinances; while prophecy was ignored. In view of 2 Peter 1:19 — “We have also a more sure word of prophecy; whereunto ye do well that ye take heed, as unto a light that shineth in a dark place” — and the general neglect of prophecy for fourteen hundred years, those centuries have very aptly been termed “The Dark Ages” — dark because the light from the lamp of prophecy did not illumine them.
    Nor was it much better when the Reformers came on the scene. God forbid that we should utter one word of criticism against those honored men of God, but their hands were more than full in preaching the Gospel to a people who were utterly ignorant of it, in translating the Scriptures into their own mother-tongues, and in expounding the great fundamentals of the Christian faith. [So busily occupied were they in those good works, they had little or no time to give to the real study of prophecy itself.] As a matter of fact, practically all that the Reformers saw in the prophetical portions of Scripture was the foretold judgment of God upon the Satanic system of the Papacy, out of which they had been mercifully delivered.
    Those who have any knowledge at all of human nature can readily understand how it would be with men who had been cradled in Romanism and who later had, by the grace of God, been enabled to see its blasphemous errors. [When they came to the prophecies of Scripture, their thinking was colored by Romanism,] and consequently when they met with an object which was the predicted subject of God’s judgment, they viewed it through colored glasses. “Babylon’’ was the Papacy; the “Man of Sin” was the Pope; the “Beast” was Rome, and so on.
    [The sad thing is that most of those who have followed the Reformers, instead of studying the prophecies of God’s Word for themselves, have done little more than echo what the Reformers before them said.] In consequence, little or no advance has been made, and God’s people at large today have very little more light upon prophecy than had their forefathers of three hundred years ago. There is, therefore, pressing need for all Christians to give at least part of the time they spend in reading the Scriptures to studying its predictions.”…A.W. Pink

    I stand with Mr. Pink

    ed

  8. After further detailed calculation, I have concluded that I was one year off as Rob noted. My sincerest apologies. Please do not call me a false prophet. Please don’t apply Deut. 18. I repent in dust and ashes!

  9. …..it’s later.
    I pray that my reformed brothers would recognize that those who belittle or paint pre-tribulationists as fanatics, fringe movement Christians, or as heretics who have emabraced some strange and novel idea never heard of until the 1800’s have done a great disfavor to the entire body of Christ. Whatever position one holds to in this area, everyone should at the least admit good, sound, and orthodox believers have taught this view before the 1800’s time period. And many today continue to see this as a valid position to hold from the Scriptures when properly interpreted in a plain, consistent, and normal manner with the words given their ordinary usage in historical context.

    Dare you find out the truth????

    ed
    Here Is A List Of Teachers and Theologians AFTER the Protestant Reformation Who Believed In A Pre-tribulation Rapture on my blog. You may be suprised.

    http://www.thelightfortoday.blogspot.com/

  10. Ed. Brother!!! Non-Heretic! Man of God! etc,

    Let me just say that no one here (as far as I am aware) would call you anything less than a full on, Bible Christian. Wrong on matters of Eschatology as far as we can tell, but a Jesus loving, God fearing Christian none-the-less.

    As far as your list of “pre-Darby-pre-tribbers” goes… I am underwhelmed to say the least. There is little context to your list and even when there is context (as with Gill) you import Darby to interpret them. Sorry my friend, I am afraid that the Dispensationalist are on a historical two-legged stool.

    The one quote you have that shows a pre-trib view is still relatively late in Church history. Morgan Edwards may have said it first, but that only predates Darby by a century. There are 1500 years of near silence on anything resembling a pre-trib rapture. Even the Historical Pre-Mil folks never held to a “secret” coming of Christ for His Bride.

    May our disagreement sharpen our “biblical wits” and not lead to division.

    al sends

  11. Pink later repudiated dispensationalism. Click here to read his work on this.

    From a note at the bottom of the articles:
    1. Arthur Pink wrote this series of 5 articles just before his death on July 15, 1952. They were published in Mr. Pink’s Studies in the Scriptures for the June through October, 1952 (posthumously) issues. A number of contemporary dispensationalists have been republishing some of Mr. Pink’s writings from his dispensational days (namely, The Redeemer’s Return and The Antichrist), this is unfortunate, but as these articles show Mr. Pink’s position was against the dispensational school of thought up till the very month of his death.

  12. One more thing, I could not resist. I have read Mather before. The Puritans are hardly a rapture ready bunch. They looked to the day when the world would be filled with the glory of God. DO not confuse Millenarianism with Pre-Tribulationism. it is true many of them held to a literal 1,000 year millennium, but their understanding is far from Darby or Ryrie. The text Mather deals with is: 1 Thess 4:15 For this we say to you by the word of the Lord, that we who are alive and remain until the coming of the Lord will by no means precede those who are asleep. 16 For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. 17 Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And thus we shall always be with the Lord. 18 Therefore comfort one another with these words.

    The text indicates that the saints are caught up with Christ immediately before an outpouring of wrath on the wicked in Rev. 20:9. This is hardly the same thing as the secret rapture as it happens at the return of Christ. There is no seven year interlude between these events.
    Uri

  13. It all depends. But Probably not at this point. Thanks for the offer, though. On a positive note, I must say there have been some helpful developments within dispensationalism like Derell Bock’s Progressive Dispensationalism theory. It is much more cogent. I pray dispensationalism takes a similar direction in the years to come. I think it is certainly a tremendous improvement. Feel free to ask me any questions off-line. Ed, no need to take this topic any further. All of us here have come from dispensational backgrounds. Some of us have embraced a different Biblical framework. Suffice to say, I think the point of this post was to mock (MOCK!) time setters, rapture setters, or any such thing. I think we can agree that these false prophets are on both sides of the aisle unfortunately: Harold Camping (Former Reformed Dutch pastor) and man like Jack Van Impe who has been in the date setting business for decades. Both are dangerous and should be avoided at all costs. Can we agree?

  14. Okay! Tent folded. I don’t want to wear out my welcome.
    I hate date setters, that is so stupid. I don’t know Harold Camping, and Van Impe turns my stomach.
    ALL I have ever tried to learn was an order of events.
    Hopefully I’ll be able to get back to you guys and work some things out that still trouble me about all of this.

    ed

Leave a Reply

