The Difference Between Right and Best

I love the Handbasket™ because pushing and shoving are allowed. There is steady care for each other, but the basketeers (and often our readers) will question, skewer and lampoon in the most loving of ways. Wicker, you may say, sharpens wicker.

As is well known to any regular reader, the 2008 presidential election has been at the center of much discussion and nausea. The common theme has been that we have no good choices. The left is way too left and the right is lame and stupid. Choosing either seems almost treasonous. I, personally, have mounted a nationally ignored campaign to vote No in this election as a means of protest. While this has not been a complete wheel-spin at the Handbasket™ level, my fellow basketeers have fled the ranks only to firmly ensconce themselves as undecided. Bah!

In the end it seems that we’re all taking this election a bit more seriously as the day looms, and are yielding our angst to serious thought. We are, to borrow from Sowell, constrained by conscience to do the right thing. I will point to three things that have been particularly helpful in clarifying things for me.

This John Piper video.

Tony Woodlief’s piece in World Mag on single issue voting.

Thomas Sowell’s interview on NRO.

I am going to vote for John McCain. I don’t think it is the right choice, but I do think it is the best choice.

10 responses to “The Difference Between Right and Best

  1. As far as I know, I haven’t acutally talked anyone into it. Well, other than you and David…and we see how long that lasted.

  2. Demagoguery ain’t all it’s cracked up to be. Such pressure!

    If Kaleb is voting as a citizen of Idaho…no blood no foul.

    Kaleb, if you’re still registered in Florida, see the above links. Then vote your conscience.

  3. Oh heck, let Kaleb vote in both states — haven’t you heard, the motto for this election is vote early and often. 🙂

  4. Radilman1: Right on. Apparently that’s everybody’s strategy.

    Pastors Stout and Hadding: Thanks for the concern. Yeah, I seriously considered voting No, and I am absentee voting in Florida. Makes my voice a little louder, at least. Anyhow, after many public discussions, with classmates and hearing Pastor Wilson, and also after a lengthy talk with my Dad, I think I’ll be voting for McPalin, purely for the chance to stop Roe. So. Looks like we’re all in the same boat.

  5. I joked about voting “Oh NO you di-in’t!”, and was considering voting third party. But after hearing a few wise words from SG last week, I decided to vote McCain. Thanks SG.

    We didn’t vote early because we like to take the boys with us when we vote on the big day. Makes it more memorable.

  6. Rob;
    You have vindicated your mother-in-law. She said all along that you would come around and do the right thing. I wasn’t sure?????? I really am proud of you…..for some other things as well, but this is good.

    “The world is a dangerous place to live, not because of people who are evil, but because of people who don’t do anything about it.” Albert Einstein

    ed

Leave a Reply

