I’m With the Democrats!

(Well, these democrats, anyway.)

[Davy Crockett weighs in as well!]

7 responses to “I’m With the Democrats!

  1. 1. I don’t understand this stuff.
    2. I’m dumb enough to think that simpler solutions are better.
    3. That’s too much freakin’ money for it to be right.
    4. The Bush administration either suffers from a failure of imagination or a failure of nerve.
    5. Either way, the Bush administration is a failure.

  2. I haven’t heard you guys talk about the Constitution Party and Chuck Baldwin. (Maybe I missed it?) I just read that Ron Paul supports Baldwin now.

    So, what are you guys thinking lately? I’m feeling strongly about voting conscience instead of voting to prevent one party from winning. I guess it’s the best I can do with my limited understanding…

  3. My counsel on voting is to vote your conscience. I think that is the best rule in all of this. Whether it is this guy or that guy or the other guy, voting an informed conscience is the best way to go.

    That said, I’ve seen some things from the Constitution Party that are appealing, but in the end we’re not voting for a party, but the man. And the man…well, I can’t vote for him.

    I’m pretty sure I’ll be sticking with a “No” vote. Remember, I’m not not voting, I’m writing in “No.” Watching the so-called debates has only galvanized my resolve.

    My beloved said to me the other night, “Ya know what’s really troubling about all this? We’re saying to ourselves and to the rest of the world ‘This is our best. This is the best we can come up with.” With my No vote, I intend to communicate that this is not our best. We can and must do better.

  4. I hear you, Rob ol’ buddy. But I’m afraid we (and by “we” I mean “they”, the secular power) can’t do much better. I do think the Church can everywhere and at all times do better than the state, which is why I’m not voting in this election, nor may I ever again. I’m tired of entangling myself in worldly power structures and thus actively promoting a kingdom whose codes of ethics have no fundamental correspondence to ours as the Church. Let God, in his Lordship over human history, use the swords of states as he sees fit. As a Christian, I cannot.

    If I would not pursue an active role in despotic tyranny, I don’t know why I should involve myself in the tyranny of the majority. To suggest that Democracy is fundamentally different than despotism is only to appeal to Bentham’s calculus of the greatest good for the greatest number–a philosophy distinctly at odds with Christian ethics. It all comes down to the same schema of lording power over other people–a schema that is precluded by Christ’s gospel. Rob, I know you what I think about this already, so I apologize if I’m boring you, but I just wanted to try it out in public on an old post that might not get much traffic.

    Anyway, love you guys! Shine on, you crazy basketeers.

  5. Let me just clarify that I distinguish between active involvement in state power, and submission to state power. Of course, as a Christian, I am obliged to render the latter in the form of taxes and obedience to laws that do not violate my Christian conscience. Just so nobody thinks I’m a total wacko.

    . . . Oh, what the hey, I am a bit of a wako.

Leave a Reply

