Bloody Skirts…

… and Gad Abouts.

There are Christians that support B. Obama.  There are many reasons for this I am sure, but one I keep hearing again and again is this matter of Social Justice.  They want to see a Constantine like government that embraces a Christ centered love for the widow and the orphan.  They want a society that reflects the Trinity in sacrifice and community.  I get that, I really do.

I think those sentiments are noble and Christ like.  I am just not sure B. Obama is the first step in such a direction.   In God’s indictment of Israel at the end of the Jeremiah chapter two the Lord says this,

“Jer 2:33-37

33 “Why do you beautify your way to seek love?

Therefore you have also taught

The wicked women your ways.

34 Also on your skirts is found

The blood of the lives of the poor innocents .

I have not found it by secret search,

But plainly on all these things.

35 Yet you say, ‘Because I am innocent,

Surely His anger shall turn from me.’

Behold, I will plead My case against you,

Because you say, ‘I have not sinned.’

36 Why do you gad about so much to change your way?

Also you shall be ashamed of Egypt as you were ashamed of Assyria.

37 Indeed you will go forth from him

With your hands on your head;

For the LORD has rejected your trusted allies,

And you will not prosper by them.”

We want to gad about and change our ways while our skirts drip with the blood of the innocent.  We want to change our monetary policy, while the innocent die.  We want to gad about and relieve the debt of the third world, while the smallest of us is ripped apart.  We want to beautify our parks and streams, while the fatherless are hated and murdered by their own mothers.

There is not justice in a land that destroys the innocent, no matter how many people are working.  There is not justice in a land where skirts drag the bloody ground, no matter how often the people cry out peace, peace.

No vote for B. Obama.  Not from me, the gad abouts may do as they please.  God help them.

al sends

14 responses to “Bloody Skirts…

  1. Okay…So, I been a thinkin’. While I am not an Obama supporter, I wonder about the premises of your argument, Al, my dear brother and friend. Let’s assume for the sake of argument (and I grant that it is a huge assumption!) that Obama is likely to do more to advance the causes of so-called social justice (such as debt relief, feeding the hungry, saving the hump-backed swallow fly, whatever) than McCain. At the same time, it is likely that McCain will have no impact on abortion laws, although his personal position is that it is wrong. Grant that for just a second, for the sake of argument. (I see you puckering and grunting…you can do it…come on. There ya go.)

    Does it not make sense in this admitedly bizarre scenario that a vote for Obama is a vote in the right direction? At least in this case debt is relieved and hungry people are fed. Of course babies still die (a tragedy and an atrocity), but under McCain they die anyway.

    I’m not saying this is my position, mind you. I’m just saying that is how many Christians are justifying their support for Obama. (You know, that and the fact that he’s just so darn cute.)

    Al Sends ’08.

  2. I suppose the thing to remember is we don’t have to vote (especially not me in northern ireland!). I think it was Spurgeon who once said when given the choice between two evils choose neither.

  3. Northern Ireland!? Great googly moogly. Al, we need to get one of those geo-tracking widgets. It seems we’ve gone international.

    Welcome, James.

  4. My premise is that you cannot say that you are for a Biblically defined expression of justice and at the same time support, not simply be unable to stop, the slaughter of innocents. The two are antithetical.

    You can do all you want to feed the hungry man on the street, but if you are at the same time giving money to the doctor down the street to perform abortions you are at best inconsistent. I would say that you are worse than inconsistent, much worse.

    You will notice that I did not say, “Support McCain, cuz he is more just or has a bead on righteousness”. I am going to post about him next, but I have a sermon to finish up. I just don’t think a Christian should delude himself/herself into believing that are doing justice, loving mercy and walking humbly with their Lord when they pull that lever for the Big O. Support your vote in some other way.

    al sends

  5. Northern Ireland… My family is from Scotland. James you need to send some of your psalm singing missionary teams over here. We need the gospel.

    al sends

  6. Al,

    As a professional pro-life activist, I could not agree with you more. The baffling trend of young Christians from all backgrounds thinking that voting for a pro-death candidate like Obama is acceptable is bizarre enough in and of itself.

    When you add in how poor a candidate, politician, and man Obama is on so many levels it becomes downright maddening.

  7. Matt, it really does baffle me as well.

    How does one get to be a professional pro-life activist? Do you work for a particular ministry?

    God bless and I hope you have a wonderful Lord’s Day.

    al sends

  8. Ah… I just checked out your ‘about’ page on your blog. I hope God grants you great success in rescuing the most innocent.

    al sends

  9. Al, hearty AMEN! As I have repeated said, when one supports (enables and assists) the election of a man who supports existing abortion laws and says he will seek to roll what little protections there are in the laws back, one is violating the sixth commandment and thereby sinning in his or her vote.

  10. Pastor Stout, James, Yonke,

    I don’t know if anyone will read this, but here goes anyway. The issue of pro-life/”pro-choice” is a non-issue in this election as far as “electable” candidates go. Neither the Democrats nor Republicans give a care about abortion. They both use the status quo to get elected by either openly supporting or openly bashing it. As Jon Pope has said elsewhere, the war is a much more important issue now than abortion. That’s not the way it should be, but that’s the way it is. I’d vote for a candidate who would raise taxes, raise social security, perpetuate Iraq, invade Iran, ad nauseam, but who would really and truly end legalized abortion before I voted for a “pro-choicer” who did the rest perfectly. But we don’t have that. McCain will do nothing just like Obama will do nothing. I’ll be, I suppose, “throwing away” my vote on some third party. I’m with Pastor Stout though; God be with you, Matt.

Leave a Reply

