Mac Envy…

… slayed at last.***

I have a friend:  Good guy.  One of my favorite guys.  Superb Dentist.  Loves Jesus Christ.  Owns a MacBook Pro. 

That last little trait has been, for me, a stumbling block in our relationship.  Not because I own a Dell, I do, but that is not why.  It is because I suffer from Mac Envy.  Sure, I try to cover up my envy with snippy little remarks about how Apple can make a guy in a t-shirt and jeans look pompous or how I hate the fact it is ‘MacBook’ and not ‘Mac Book’.  Again, pompous.

Well, I am pleased to report that my envy has been dealt a death’s blow.  Phil Johnson has posted about his experience with a MacBook (I feel icky just typing that), their tech support, the Apple Store and keyboards.  It is a lovely piece of writing. 

I took joy in reading about his troubles, not for his sake you understand – bless his heart-, but for mine and my struggle with besetting sin.  I am sure Phil is Job like right now, stating that the Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away – Blessed be the Name of the Lord.  And I am like a real friend of Job, simply agreeing and rejoicing right along with him.  See?  Righteousness all around.

And as I glance at my Dell, with its hideous boxy shape, hiding massive amounts of bloated code and a Windows registry that is bigger and more unwieldy than a Shanghai phone book – I smile.

Yep, envy has been laid low.  I am sure you can tell.

al sends

*** I am still working on self-deceipt and pride.

5 responses to “Mac Envy…

  1. See… this is why I shall always be a second tier blogger… My titles approach the truth, but rarely capture it.

    Well done to both of you.

    al sends

Leave a Reply

