Happiness

Saw this on a local church sign this week:

HAPPINESS IS ONLY FOUND IN ONE THING

TO LOVE AND TO BE LOVED

Um. Isn’t that two things?

8 responses to “Happiness

  1. Stop counting! You might start finding out that there are THREE persons in ONE God. And we all know what happens after that.

    I saw this one a few days ago:
    “Worry is a burden God never meant for us to bear”
    I don’t think I’ve ever quite wanted to scream curses out of my car window before. I refrained, of course, because I was actually in the Chick-Fil-A cow van. Although I’m pretty sure the guy behind me was swearing when I came to a screeching halt in front of the church. I just couldn’t believe it.

  2. Cow Van…

    that just sounds funny.

    A couple of things I learned from Miracle Max in The Princess Bride…>/i>

    First, “true love is the greatest thing, in the world-except for a nice MLT – mutton, lettuce and tomato sandwich, where the mutton is nice and lean and the tomato is ripe”

    Second, “you rush a miracle man, you get rotten miracles”

    al sends

  3. Lately, my favorite church signs are:

    KJV only is our final answer

    and

    Are you ready for “heaven? ” <- I mean, I think I’m ready for heaven, but “heaven?” I just don’t know…

  4. C. S. Lewis said that it would probably be easier for students to understand the passive if the paradigm verb were flagello rather than amo since loving and being loved are nearly the same thing, while flogging and being flogged are so different.

Leave a Reply

