Gassy…

… and Tums wont help.  From the UK’s Daily Mail:

Is the hot air emitted by celebrities when they spout ecological platitudes a greenhouse gas?

If so, then the melting of the polar ice caps just moved a step closer, following calls by Trudie Styler, a leading celebrity ecological hypocrite – call them hippy-crites for short – for the general public to eat more locally grown vegetables.

Reading that piece on Dale Courtney’s Blog made me want to rip off Joyce Kilmer

I think that I shall never see,
A Hypocrite as grand as thee.

A man against you never bet,
Love is proved – the carbon offset.

Yer close to God, traveling near,
Thy arms are spread by the Jet Lear.

You beat us down and hate the poor,
Not wanting wind farms right next door.

In your bosom children slumber,
Fresh Arugula in Summer.

You point us to your fresh dug pit,
God pushes in the Hypocrite.

 al sends

14 responses to “Gassy…

  1. It’s like the episode of South Park where there’s a big cloud of Smug over San Francisco that joins another cloud of Smug from South Park, creating a super storm, and nearly destroying the world.

  2. Like Josh Gibbs said, soon they’ll be printing Vanity Fair’s “Green Issue”, and cut down about 5 million trees in the amazon to do so.

    Oh, and on the Al Gore note, go to http://www.freecarbonoffsets.com to, like Christian in Bunyan, lay the unbearable load of your carbon at the feet of somebody else. Yes, I, Evangelist, myself own 1.5billion carbon offsets. Yep, with a b. And I also found out something else just recently. If everyone lived like me, we would need 5.8 planets like Earth to survive as a species. I never knew it took so much to make Oreos and Mountain Dew!

  3. Whoa. I’m some sort of gagged triangle.

    I must say that I kind of liked that ‘bland ghost thingy” Pastor Stout . . . it gave me a feeling of elusive anonymity.

  4. Well, for those of us who really *would* like to eat more locally grown produce, may I direct you to downtown Milton on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays? Starting around 8 AM, I believe, local farmers and craftspeople are selling their wares. Check it out. It’s groovy, man.

    (Hmmm…my new avatar is rolling its eyes at everything I say. As Susan said, “Fitting!”)

  5. I must check out the avatar thingy…did y’all choose yours or will it just choose one for willy-nilly? I am so techno challenged.
    But oh yes…I’m not being superficial or anything…of course my main reason for posting a response…which I don’t ever do because you guys are so dang smart…is to say I plan to visit the Farmer’s Market…I’ll check back in on the grooviness factor BeckyJ…
    Now about this avatar thing…

  6. Hhmmm…it’s uncanny how on target that thing is…blowing rasberries…yep, it’s fitting…although if my eyebrows were really like that I’d have a standing date with some hot wax or tweezers.

  7. Marty, it is based on your WordPress log in. There is some math going on there that is beyond me, but it will be your Avatar unless you put up a picture of your own.

    Kaleb, anonymity is an illusion, for the Lord’s eyes are ever on the sparrow and the blogger.

    al sends

Leave a Reply

