“Aha,” you will say, and you are right.

Got 12 minutes? Read Why I Am No Longer a ‘Brain-Dead Liberal’ by David Mamet. It’s thoughtful. It’s Mamet. It’s good.

11 responses to ““Aha,” you will say, and you are right.

  1. It’s amazing. I’ve been working through some of the same things, only from the opposite side (“brain-dead conservative” anyone?). Who ever thought that David Mamet and I would meet in the middle. Not I, that is for certain.

  2. Geek,
    What makes it difficult to think through (in my opinion) is the inherited definitions of terms. If we use Republican to mean conservative, and Democrat to mean liberal, we’re in big trouble. I may be naive, but it seems we’re presented with a false dilemma that we swallow all too easily. It may be time to explode the categories and start all over. That, however, would be a lot of work…and who has the time?

  3. Rob,

    I agree. I find myself increasingly uncomfortable with the traditional labels. Liberal v. conservative for example. What is it that we are trying to conserve? How far back does this conservation go? 5 years? 10? 100? And what does “liberal” mean? It seems like it means different things in different contexts. One of the problems with our post-modern, enlightened, deconstructionist society is that we are no longer concerned with what words mean. I can call you a liberal and never bat an eye, even if you don’t stand for anything that other self-proclaimed liberals do simply because you seem liberal to me.

    I would love to effectively start over. We think too much in terms of labels and platforms and don’t allow for a continuum.

    I also agree that it will take time, but it’s not like it all has to happen at once. If we start from the bottom, with a little time the change will work it’s way up. At which time we’ll have a completely different mess on our hands. 🙂

  4. I get your vibe, geek and Rob.

    I listen, for example, to Rush (only on occasion and for mercifully short periods of time), and his overinflated conservative/liberal jargon falls flat. We need to teach a whole new generation of Christians to draw the lines in different places. There is an antithesis, but it is not the left/right, conservative/liberal line that we need to be tending. The old lines are moribund.

    I think I’m paleo-conservative or euaggelo-liberal or theonomo-libertarian or catholo-progressive or something.

    Or then again maybe that’s all just gibberish.

Leave a Reply

