Adorable Sin…

… deadly, adorable sin. 

I thought of these verses when I saw these pictures today:

Then, when desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, brings forth death. Do not be deceived, my beloved brethren.

Sin, at birth, looks alot like baby Knut, the polar bear:

Baby Knut  

You can hear the effects of ‘cute sin” when parents chuckle at their two year old as she shouts a resounding ‘NO!’ from the pool when told its time to go in.  Aint she cute, acting all grown up…

Unless that sin is rooted out it grows and it will kill its host.

The ‘NO!’ of a 16 year old is not cute.  The ‘NO!’ of a 24 year old is down right ugly – and deadly.

Knut all grown up

Don’t be deceived, the sin of the cute ones is death in training.

al sends

2 responses to “Adorable Sin…

  1. Reminds me of a Bible study I was teaching a number of years ago, talking about the depravity of man and the fact that even cute little babies are born in sin. A friend in the class struggled with this truth. A few weeks later, our (now 14 year old) son was born, and my friend went to the hospital to see him. He called me later and I asked what he thought of little Matthew. He answered,“Cutest little sinner I ever saw!”

  2. Rob has been graciously and with great care, leading us through the Doctrines of Grace (a.k.a. Calvinism) – when we discussed Unconditional Election we talked in detail about man’s depraved state, that we inherited sin from our father Adam and that we are born in that root state. My wife is still struggling with this – she is a mother who is best described by Proverbs 31 starting in verse 10; she is dedicated to her family and would (does) do anything to protect her children.
    It strikes me odd that we’re ok with our sinful nature when it’s full grown; or at least grown enough to not be so cute – as Al points out; but in viewing a baby we can’t stand the though of them being born in sin (a song is playing in my head; female vocalist…”I was born in original sin…” anyone?).
    Sin in and of itself is offensive to God – the perfect Creator – Sovereign – Holy – that offense is what is ugly – not the necessary appearance of the sinful. I wonder if this is a western culture issue, where appearance is very important? or more of a human issue?

Leave a Reply

