The Nonprophet Speaks

I am neither a prophet nor the son of a prophet, but I am not above making predictions. Not a premonition or an omen. I have not consulted the entrails nor have I visited Delphi. Not looking for especially propitious bird signs or anything. Haven’t conjured the shade of Samuel. But here it is.

Prediction: if John McCain wins the Republican nomination to the presidency, our next president will be a democrat.

Mark this date.

14 responses to “The Nonprophet Speaks

  1. McCain as president would be worse than say HRC, for this simple reason: McCain knows better.

    Campaign Finance Reform? He should be ashamed.

    al sends

  2. Pingback: Your Next President « After The Handbasket

  3. I must admit that today the wife and I cast our votes in an attempt to derail the presidential prospects of the man who has no problem accepting Brigham Young as a true prophet. Open confession is good for the soul.

    The Mormon prophet Brigham Young taught that the moon and the sun are inhabited.

    “Who can tell us of the inhabitants of this little planet that shines of an evening, called the moon?…when you inquire about the inhabitants of that sphere you find that the most learned are as ignorant in regard to them as the ignorant of their fellows. So it is in regard to the inhabitants of the sun. Do you think it is inhabited? I rather think it is. Do you think there is any life there? No question of it; it was not made in vain.” – Brigham Young, Journal of Discourses, vol. 13, p. 271.

  4. I will be voting for McCain. Here’s why:
    The most important issue to me is the war on terror. McCain will be the best commander-in-chief, in my opinion. McCain is also pro-life and against gay marriage. No matter who you are, you have to respect him for his time in the service, especially as a POW. I also like the fact that he has been a maverick and an independent thinker. Plus, he hates pork barrel spending. Finally, I think he gives Republicans the best chance of victory.

    What issues makes McCain a Democrat? Campaign finance reform? Immigration? These issues pale in comparison to the war on terror and the cultural war within our country.

    Finally, I don’t see a better alternative. I like Huckabee (great public speaker) but I don’t think he’s electable and he seems a little soft fiscally. Romney has flip-flopped on abortion/gay rights. I like some of Paul’s ideas (abolish social security) but he’s way off on the war. Just my two cents….

  5. I intend to vote for an amalgam of the Republican candidates — selecting the good bits of each (some of their good bits are small indeed). They each have aspects that trouble me, until I look at the Democrat alternatives. As David Bryant said in his sermon today, it’s a good thing we aren’t putting our faith in the candidates, but in the almighty God.

  6. Pingback: No Need to Stone Me, After All « After The Handbasket

  7. Rob, it appears that I never followed up on the continuation of comments on this post, so this is the first I’ve seen your question to me. I grew up being called mostly by a nickname which I dropped over 30 years ago and will now remain far behind my teeth. I’ve been called a lot of names but WW2 was rarely if ever used. If you can think of any variation on Winford though, I’ve probably heard it.

Leave a Reply

