Yay…They’re Sinners!

In case you don’t visit the comments section of the blog, I want to make more public a comment Al made in the WWJVF post. He said, and I quote, “Be wise. Look to the word and then pick between two or eight sinners.”

The reason this is particularly helpful is that we’re not left to choose between the lesser of two evils. We’re choosing between sinners with different ideas. To say we are choosing between the lesser of two evils is to make a false distinction, namely, that there are unevil people who are not available, so we pick between the evil ones…leaving us, obviously, with evil.

This puts us squarely back into the arena where we wrestle and work and do our best to do our duty to God and our country (I remember that from Cub Scouts…I’m getting dizzy). This is where we belong. So we pick the best candidate available, knowing full well that he or she (that was for you, Al) is a sinner. And we do our job of submitting to and praying for them because they need it!

Suddenly, I’m a little more hopeful than I was in my Uneasy Conscience days.

3 responses to “Yay…They’re Sinners!

  1. Hey, I think I’m liking this whole blogging together thing. Way to go, Al.

    Oh, and Rob, that dizzy comment is *not* funny coming from you, buster. Knock that off!

  2. Some sinners may be disqualified due to the nature of their sin. For example, if it came out that one candidate took a bribe for a political favor she would be excluded. Even if the state sanctions that sin it would be a disqualifier for a Christian. I am working on another post that might address this.

    al sends

  3. The dizzy thing had more to do with recalling my abbreviated tenure in the Cub Scouts. As I recall, my Cub Scout career is marked with an asterisk. At this point I’ll invoke the axiom “confession is good for the soul, but bad for the reputation” and be grateful that this whole discussion is taking place in an obscure comment thread and shall not be spoken of again…you know…in case I decide to run for President some day.

    (And the cat had it coming. I’m sure you would have done the same thing if you were in my blue and yellows.)

Leave a Reply

