The Solas

Another help in understanding the bases for Reformed Theology is having a grasp of the “Five Solas.” Sola, soli and solus mean “alone” or “only.” The basic formulation goes something like this:

Salvation comes by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone as revealed in Scripture alone, for the glory of God alone.

  • 1 Sola scriptura (“by Scripture alone”)
  • 2 Sola fide (“by faith alone”)
  • 3 Sola gratia (“by grace alone”)
  • 4 Solus Christus (“Christ alone”)
  • 5 Soli Deo gloria (“glory to God alone”)
  • More later on the so called Five Points of Calvinism.


    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


    Connecting to %s