Wright and Piper Reconciled!

John Piper has a book coming out next month entitled The Future of Justification: A Response to N.T. Wright. In it he addresses N.T. Wright’s take on justification. This is no small matter in the theological world at present. I have heard that he is gracious and sticks to the issue at hand. I’m looking forward to reading it. I don’t know if the two will ever come to terms in the real world, but in my world they are. I have arranged their books so that they are side by side on my bookshelf. Blessed are the peacemakers.

4 responses to “Wright and Piper Reconciled!

  1. Daniel,
    I think because the New Perspective is gaining traction in many quarters, it challenges a systematic pillar for others, and Wright is at present the most popular and arguably most effective communicator of NPP thinking.

    Wright is becoming very popular, and in reading him it is easy to see why. I don’t think that Wright is alway right, but then, neither is Piper.

    We’ll see how it runs, eh?

  2. I think that the primary difference between Wright and Piper is methodology.

    Piper is a systematic and historical theologian. Wright is for biblical and narrative theology.

  3. Daniel,

    I think you may be on to something there. I’m still wading through the pond on all of this stuff, so I’m far from being a qualified authority on the subject. I am, however, the guy that these guys are writing their book for. I will listen to both of them with respect for their contribution. At the end of the day, I think they’re both pursuing truth and knowledge of the same God.

Leave a Reply

