Am I Pathetic?

Have you wondered how this happened:

Deathly Hallows Breaks Records

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the seventh and final volume of J.K. Rowling’s fantasy series, sold a record 8.3 million copies in its first 24 hours on sale in the United States, Scholastic Inc. reported to the Associated Press.  (HT: Dale Courtney)

I have three daughters and a wife, all of whom are old enough to read Harry Potter.  We pre-ordered two copies of the book but by Saturday evening the arguments over how long so-and-so had the book and the over all mood of the readers had ruined the peace of my happy home.  So I manned up, flexed all my spiritual acumen and…

went to the store and bought another copy.

Am I pathetic?

10 responses to “Am I Pathetic?

  1. If that would make you pathetic, imagine the adjectives that could apply to me.

    I arrived at the grocery store a little before 11pm Friday night. After an hour of sitting on a folding chair, I took my copy home, read about 100 pages, fell asleep, woke up and read all day long. The copy I had ordered in February arrived some time Saturday afternoon with the mail.

  2. Might I add: your “good daughter” had work the next day and showed great patience and self restraint by *choosing* not to go to the midnight release, go buy her own book or touch the book till the next day, getting all her col. alg. hw. done and getting up and to work on time, on her own.

  3. Scotlandish… Let me just say, as one of the two left to read this book, that I admire your fortitude. Now we just have to keep the others from spilling the beans.

    Remember, Daddy loves you.

    al sends

    PS All my kids are good kids.

  4. Frank,

    For your sake I am glad that this is the last book then. That multiple copy thing is expensive. We were even eying the CDs so I could listen to them on the way to work. Have you heard the books on CD? The guy who reads them does a fantastic job… but, 50 bucks? Whew!

    al sends

  5. I think you were quite wise…

    ***I’VE*** already finished. We had it pre-orderd from Amazon since Christmas, but we were away for the weekend (Blue Angels) and were anticipating it being on the doorstep on return. It wasn’t. It was like waiting to find out who shot JR and then having a power outage…

    Anyway, Amazon kindly refunded our money and we have another on the way. In the meantime, I was concerned about hearing a spoiler and was avoiding news and the net.

    Thankfully, my dear, sweet husband went to K-Mart (Wal-Mart was sold out) and picked up another copy and became a Potter-widower for a couple of days.

    btw, I think DH is the best of the 7.

  6. I had to leave work today – ill – and that allowed me to finish the book. I too thought it was a good read. A bit too much coincidence for my taste but I like her character development.

    Heather is still working on it but everyone else is done.

    How is the snail doing?

    al sends

  7. I don’t know whether to congratulate you on being ill and able to finish the book or offer condolences.

    I reread the first book recently (a much quicker read) and am impressed at how her style and plot have progressed along with the age of the reader who started out with the series at around age 8 or 10.

    It’s hard not to give out spoilers on DH… so I won’t say much else. I know someone who started the book by reading the last page. Can you believe it?

    “The snail” is now named Slimey and is alive, so far. I keep thinking he’s dead, but then he sneaks around and moves somewhere else and we have to hunt him down. I don’t know if I can’t stand much more excitement like this.

Leave a Reply

