WWJD… What Would Jesus Decry…

… Or can political liberals be Christians?

The White House will have new tenants in January 2009. It appears that it will not be Ron Paul (or me for that matter). What are we to think of our two candidates? In what pleasant meadow should our thought frolic as we make our decision in November? This post has been in the hopper for awhile now. Let me post it up and get your reaction -

At our previous and lesser blog a commenter posted the following:

Despite being a liberal, I agree that reason and Biblical thought are not incompatible. I don’t think that my post went that far. A voter informed by their Bible, as well as other sources, is not a bad voter or an idiot. Nonetheless, one who merely votes for whomever their pastor/priest/minister endorses, well that’s another story. I’m sure that you know the type, the ones that go to church to be told what the Bible says, instead of reading It and discerning for themselves.

Now I pass it back to you…can one be politically liberal and Christian?

A couple of things here… First of all, let me point out this one pathetic straw-man.  He said that I know the type of person who goes to church to be told what the bible says instead of reading it for themselves.

Actually, I don’t know anyone like that. In theory I guess they exist, but I don’t know anyone that actually takes their Bible that way. The Christians I know are all fairly well read when it comes to the Bible and are more than capable of discerning for themsel ves what the Author intended. That is not the point of post, but I thought I would mention it.

Now on to his actual question. At first I read it as him asking whether one can be politically liberal and a Christian, putting the article “a” in front of Christian. If that was his question then I would be happy to report in the affirmative… Yes Virginia, you can be wrong on any of a number of political issues and remain ‘A’ Christian. You are saved by Grace through Faith and not of works (political or otherwise).

That was not his question though. I think he really wanted to know if politically liberal positions were Christian or not. On some issues that question is very easy to answer. Abortion, enshrinement of sexual deviance into law, property rights, the collectivization of the raising of children and others that go against clear biblical teaching are issues where the so called conservative in this country is in l ine with Christian thought.

 There are other issues that may be a bit more difficult to nail down. For example… There is on the left a great desire for social justice. They have put that desire into laws, preventing government and society from stepping over the poor to get to next level on the wealth ladder. That is something the bible talks about in great detail (read Micah 6; Is 56; Jer 22) and it is something the rulers of a nation should be concerned with.

So, can you be a Christian and vote as a liberal? On a few issues we might all be a little more liberal. Since we have said that all our candidates are sinners and their sins are going to take the form of political positions we have to ask ourselves are any of their sins are disqualifying. Does God want us to support a Presidential candidate who supports state sanctioned murder? If a candidate for Senate is a known drunkard, wanting vodka served before every meeti ng of Congress, should he get our vote? Can we vote for a pro-life guy who thinks that your neighbor has as much right to the dollars in your pocket as you do?

Always remember that Jesus hates and loves many things and we as Christians are to hate what He hates and love what He loves. Every pastor, husband, wife, child, owner of the local Sizzler, and candidate loves things that God hates. That is the nature of sin, loving what God hates.

 Here is the thing… Some sins disqualify you from being a pastor, husband, wife etc… There are some sins that disqualify you from being President. It will take bit of wisdom and biblical discernment to hash those out. Let’s do it together.

One more thing… given how we are to treat the stranger and visitor within our gates, what is the biblical position on border control and immigration? Conservatives may have this one wrong.
 
al sends

6 responses to “WWJD… What Would Jesus Decry…

  1. Thanks for taking the time to consider my question. I’m impressed with the care taken in the response. I can’t say that agree with everything contained in your comment.

    Before I respond to the entire post – let me ask you this: Do you believe Obama to be a Christian?

    By that same token, as I put my faith in the Lord should I not put the same faith in my brother that if he say that he is a Christian then I must believe?

  2. Pol…

    Do I believe Obama to be a Christian?

    Like so many questions this one is answered with both a yes and a no.

    As far as I know Sen. Obama has been baptized in the name of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit as was the pastor who presided over this sacrament of the Church. So, yes, Sen. Obama is objectively a Christian. He has the name of the Triune God upon him and I would call him a brother if I met him on the street and the Secret Service would let me near him.

    Now, given that he is objectively a Christian I would address him like I would any other brother I saw sinning in the way that he appears to be sinning. If the Secret Service actually left us alone for a few minutes I would tell him that he is walking contrary to his baptism. By his support of abortion in particular, he is mocking his Father, the Lord who bought him, and grieving the Holy Spirit, who is the giver of life.

    Since he is a Christian I would point him to the Word by which he was called. I would address him with the words of the Man who died for him and tell him that he is no worse a sinner than I, but unless He repents he will perish.

    (Luke 13:1-5
    There were present at that season some who told Him about the Galileans whose blood Pilate had mingled with their sacrifices. 2 And Jesus answered and said to them, “Do you suppose that these Galileans were worse sinners than all other Galileans, because they suffered such things? 3 I tell you, no; but unless you repent you will all likewise perish . 4 Or those eighteen on whom the tower in Siloam fell and killed them, do you think that they were worse sinners than all other men who dwelt in Jerusalem? 5 I tell you, no; but unless you repent you will all likewise perish .” )

    If he were to die in such rebellion as he finds himself today I would find it very hard to say that he was a follower of Christ indeed. The fruit of his life does not speak of life and that more abundant. He is facilitator of murder and Galatians 5:19-21 says:

    19 Now the works of the flesh are evident, which are: adultery, fornication, uncleanness, lewdness, 20 idolatry, sorcery, hatred, contentions, jealousies, outbursts of wrath, selfish ambitions, dissensions, heresies, 21 envy, murders, drunkenness, revelries, and the like; of which I tell you beforehand, just as I also told you in time past, that those who practice such things will not inherit the kingdom of God.

    Let me ask you pol? Are you a Christian? Have you been given the Name that is above all names? Does this list out of Galatians strike home? Let me urge you then brother, repent for unless you do so, you will likewise perish.

    God’s Grace,

    al sends

  3. Thanks for stopping by Les. I have enjoyed your interaction wtih Brian over at lost sheep, sorry I could not jump into that discussion and lend you some support. My life is a bit busy right now.

    Of course I might be more apt if we had a link on your fine blogroll. (man, Rob’s boldness in asking for links is rubbing off on me)

    al sends

  4. You got it. Frankly I thought I had already done that. You guys are just the kind of blogroll I like to have on mine. Thanks for the link here also.

    Yeah, that interaction was sort of fun, but honestly as much as I like to talk about baptism, there are much more important things I like to discuss.

Leave a Reply

